Junior League of New Orleans

Safe Sitter Babysitter Training for Youth

The Best Babysitter is a SAFE SITTER!

Read Safe Sitter: Vital lessons for babysitters
by Danielle Sutton as printed in Lagniappe Winter Edition, 2010

SAFE SITTER is a babysitting training program for boys and girls ages 11-13, which is taught in collaboration with the Parenting Center at Children's Hospital. 

Safe Sitter provides adolescents with improved childcare skills to reduce the number of accidental and preventable deaths among children by teaching CPR, choking child and infant rescue breathing, and how to properly secure a home against safety hazards.  

These weekend courses are staffed by trained Junior League volunteers.

In addition to basic life-saving techniques (choking, first aid), the following topics are addressed:

  • Safety precautions to prevent accidents
  • How to successfully and safely run a babysitting business
  • How and when to summon help, and
  • Tips on basic childcare 

For more information or to register for a workshop, please contact the Parenting Center at (504) 896-9591.  The cost of the class and all materials is $50 per child.  Please note that these classes are extremly popular and fill up quickly.


Classes are held at Junior League Headquarters at 4319 Carondelet Street in Uptown New Orleans.

Choose one session from the following list. 

2013 Safe Sitter Dates & Times:

Saturday June 1: 9:30AM- 4:30PM
Sunday June 2: 10:00AM – 5:00PM

Saturday June 8: 9:30AM- 4:30PM
Sunday June 9: 10:00AM – 5:00PM

Saturday June 22: 9:30AM- 4:30PM
Sunday June 23: 10:00AM – 5:00PM

Saturday June 29: 9:30AM- 4:30PM
Sunday June 30: 10:00AM – 5:00PM

Saturday July 13: 9:30AM- 4:30PM
Sunday July 14: 10:00AM – 5:00PM

Saturday July 20: 9:30AM- 4:30PM
Sunday July 21: 10:00AM – 5:00PM

Sunday July 28: 10:00AM – 5:00PM

The Parenting Center and the Junior League of New Orleans offer classes over the summer. All inquiries and registration materials should be directed to The Parenting Center at Children’s Hospital (504) 896-9591.

Junior League of
New Orleans Headquarters

4319 Carondelet Street
New Orleans, LA 70115

phone: (504) 891-5845
fax: (504) 897-9496

Contact Us

Preferred Partners


 

Follow Us